........

.                               Return to home page

Great links for teens

Check out some of these links. Have something you think we should add? Comment away!

Work

Paper Rater (http://paperrater.com/) - Not sure about your paper? Get it checked for grammar, spelling and plagiarism before handing it in.
FollowUpThen(http://www.followupthen.com/) - Want to remind yourself or someone else of something? This site works with Outlook to send a timed reminder.
Memorize Now ( http://www.memorizenow.com/) - Need to memorize something quick? Try this tool. 
Zotero- This Firefox add-on can help you keep track of and cite information you find on the internet.
CU Suceed (http://www.cusucceed.net/resources.php)- Financial information geared towards teens.
NoodleBib Express (http://www.noodletools.com/login.php)- Not sure how to cite a certain resource? NoodleBib to the rescue.

Fun

Do Something (http://www.dosomething.org/) - This site encourages teens to put up posts about their charity projects. They also provide help in finding volunteer opportunities and even offer seed grants for those who want to start up a new project.
What Do You Suggest? (http://whatdoyousuggest.net/) - An easy way to narrow down your Google search.
Full Weather Screen (http://www.wunderground.com/auto/wxmap/)- Play weatherman with this amped up Google map.
Moodturn(http://moodturn.com/#)- Need to relax in the forest? Now you can right on your computer.
Flavor.me (http://flavors.me/)- An easy way to make a website that covers all your social networking sites.
Book Divas Forum (http://www.bookdivas.com/forum/) - A forum for YA and college level readers to talk about the books they love.
Snopes (http://snopes.com/info/whatsnew.asp) - Someone send you an e-mail that sounds suspicious? Check out Snopes to see if it's already been debunked.
Merlyn's Pen(http://www.merlynspen.org/)- A literary magazine written by teens for teens.

Music

Seat Geek ( http://seatgeek.com/)- Calculates how much a ticket will be worth depending on the day you buy it.
Tune Glue (http://audiomap.tuneglue.net/) - Find new music that you might like based on bands you already love.
Pandora ( http://www.pandora.com/) - Create stations that play music based on your favorite song or band.
Bandcamp (http://bandcamp.com/)- Find great new cheap music or upload your bands and get heard!
Contrapuncus (http://contrapunctus.thirdangle.org/)- Not quite a game. Allows you to make music with a wave of your mouse.


Crafts

Make Your Own Laptop Bag Out of a Hoodie (http://www.labnol.org/home/make-laptop-bag-with-jacket/12996/) - Check out the rest of the Digital Inspiration blog for other tech projects
Flame (http://www.escapemotions.com/experiments/flame/#top)- Make great desktop art with this flash tool.
Harmony (http://mrdoob.com/lab/javascript/harmony/#grid) - Draw black and white pictures with unique brushes.
Make Non-Toxic Cleaners (http://howto.wired.com/wiki/Green_Cleaning_Tips_for_Your_Home)

 

No votes yet